IPAA Fellow

The IPAA Fellow, the highest national award bestowed by the Institute, recognises an individual’s outstanding contribution to the study or practice of public administration. Recipients of this prestigious award are entitled to use the
postnominal letters ‘FIPAA’.

A full list of National Fellows can be found on the IPAA National website.


2016 Martin Hoffman
2015 Graeme Head
2015 Margaret Crawford
2014 Mike Allen PSM
2014 Leanne Wallace                        
2013 Michael Coutts-Trotter

2013 Peter Duncan AM

2013 Jane Spring

2012 Donna Rygate
2012 Nazha Saad
2012 Jennifer Westacott
2011 Peter Achterstraat
2011 Illana Halliday
2011 Dr Kerry Schott
2010 Russell Grove PSM
2010 Mary Ann O'Loughlin AM                                                 
2010 Jane Woodruff
2009 Pam Rutledge
2009 Peter Connelly
2008 Karin Callaghan
2007 Tim Farland
2006 Deborah Sandars
2005 Robyn Kruk AM
2004 Andrew Cappie-Wood
2004 Lisa Corbyn
2003 Percy Allan AM
2002 Carolyn Burlew
2002 David Richmond AO
2001 Carolyn Bloch
2001 Dr Hal Colebatch
2000 Helen Bauer
1999 Colleen Moore PSM
1998 Jan Smith PSM
1997 Dr Colin Gellatly AO
1996 Jane Diplock AO
1996 Leslie Quinnell AO
1995 Dr Helen Nelson
1995 George Bawtree
1994 Philip Wheeler PSM
1993 Alison Crook AO
1992 Richard Humphry AO
1988 Graham Pratt
1988 Martin Painter
1988 Pamela Grant
1988 Raymond Hodgkinson AM
1987 Norm Oakes AO
1985 Jack O’Donnell
1985 Richard Conolly AM
1983 Dr Kenneth Knight AM
1983 Edwin Walder
1983 Dr Ross Curnow
1983 Gerald Gleeson AC
1983 Jack Watson AM
1983 Lionel Milsop
1983 The Hon. Rae Else-Mitchell CMG, QC
1983 Thomas Kewley OAM
1983 Victor Cohen



Peter Duncan AM and Jane Spring, 2013 National Fellows, with CEO John Carnegie and President Peter Achterstraat


Donna Rygate, 2012 National IPAA Fellow

Nazha Saad, 2012 National IPAA Fellow

Peter Achterstraat, 2011 National IPAA Fellow

Illana Halliday, 2011 National IPAA Fellow

Dr Kerry Schott, 2011 National IPAA Fellow



Young Public Sector Leaders Award

2013 Young Public Sector Leader Shabnam Gill with Terry Moran AC

Contact us

Office address
Level 6, Bligh House
4-6 Bligh Street
NSW, 2000

Postal Address
GPO Box 904
NSW, 2001

Phone: 02 8223 8418
Fax: 02 8223 8420

ABN 13 432 812 038


Latest news

Read Ignite
Read Ignite
Latest news and stories. More
IPAA NSW Annual Report 2015-16
IPAA NSW Annual Report 2015-16
Read our latest Annual Report here. More
Join our mailing list
Please enter your first name
Please enter your surname
A valid email address is required